Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2.3 Swap?

1. Default 2.3 Swap?

Hi

I'm new here and this is my first post.
    I have a '32 Ford pickup with an '84 Thunderbird TurboCoupe 4 cyl and 5 speed trans. (The trans is out of an '87 TC). I've been running the truck like this for about 5 years and have about 25 000 miles on it.

Unfortunately, I cooked the engine a few weeks ago.
    I need a quick, easy, cheap fix.

I can get a good running, low mileage 2.3l out of a 2002 Ranger for cheap.

Does anyone have any ideas how I can make the Ranger 2.3 run without getting into a crazy amount of wiring / electronics? I can buy the engine but getting the wiring harness and computer is a totally different deal. Even if I could get all that stuff, I don't have the time or patience anymore to cut it down and make it all work.

I had a nightmare of a time doing my Turbo 2.3l conversion. I've got a least a month of wiring work in there and it was absolute Hell. I don't want to get into anything like that again.

If I could find a good carbureted 2.3 out of a pre-electronic Ford, I'd take it in a heartbeat but stuff like that is near impossible to find around me.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do here?

If I can't make a newer 2.3 work in that truck without too much trouble, I'm just going to drop in a 302. I REALLY don't want to go that way but I don't want to get too heavily involved with this vehicle right now.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me with this!

Dave

2. Default

I have no idea about a engine for you bud....but that's a sweet phucking ride if you ask me!!!

3. Default